Fairlane Owners/Enthusiasts Forum Index
  The time now is Sat Apr 20, 2024 7:47 am   

Fairlane Owners/Enthusiasts Forum Index -> FairlaneTech

62 New Dash Pad Installation

Author    Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
62 4-Door

62 New Dash Pad Installation

I'm new to the Fairlane models and I recently bought a 62 with a 351 4 speed.

My question is about installing a new dash pad. Are they glued in or just laid into place and held in by the trim? Is this something I could tackle myself or should I leave it up to a shop?

Post Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:27 pm 
Canus

62 Dash Pad

I've never seen a 62 with a dash pad. Plain painted steel. If your car has a padded dash it was done by the previous owner NOT by the factory.

Post Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:39 pm 
Bill62

Mine also is painted

Post Thu Mar 24, 2011 5:45 am 
roger

Sport Coupe padded dashes

All sport Coupes came with a factory padded dash, you can buy new replacements from Just Dashes or cheaper from Dennis Carpenter
I removed mine from my 62 F;lsne S.C. & believe me they are glued in, so much so i couldn;t save the old dash!
If you belong to the Fairlane Club of america, there is a whole How to in a back issue that you can download at our site
If your not a member, you should be, but, let me know & i can send to you

Post Thu Mar 24, 2011 12:37 pm 
62 4-Door

Roger,
Thanks for the reply sir and I seriously know what you mean about getting the old one off. Took me two weeks but I got it.

I've seen pics of a Sports Coupe without the dash pad but with the chrome trim installed and personally I don't think it looks right. There are big gaps where the pad is supposed to be.

I'm currently not a member of the club but I will for sure look into it. Could you please send it to me @ jeffg24ever@yahoo.com. Thanks again sir.

Ken

Post Fri Mar 25, 2011 4:08 pm 
62 4-Door

Thanks to all for the replys.

Post Fri Mar 25, 2011 4:09 pm 
roger

das pad