Fairlane Owners/Enthusiasts Forum Index
  The time now is Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:28 am   

Fairlane Owners/Enthusiasts Forum Index -> FairlaneTech

289 dead in water and dont know why. HELP

Author    Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Tannerm

289 dead in water and dont know why. HELP

Originally started as a unplugged vacuum line and a possible burnt exhaust valve in cylinder two. Two saturdays ago, as my fairlane was warming up, it just died. I am new to carbs and as it was warming up, i adjusted the idle to lower it and then ran inside for something, and came out to find it off. It would just turn over with no fire.

First off, its a "c" code 289 with edlebrock performer intake and holley 600cfm (4 bbl, electric choke) and manifold back exhaust. Remember me mentioning earlier about adjusting the carb? Well, the screw I used was NOT what I thought it was... It was the air/fuel mix screw on the passenger side of carb (one of two set screws.)... Im a dumb*** i know. Once i adjusted that screw, the idle dropped to around 800, so i thought i adjusted it correctly.

So, that next day we towed it to a buddys barn where we had air tools etc. We reset carb, correctly plugged vacuum line into the pcv valve, and restabbed the dizzy. Using the 1/4 turn air/fuel screw technique, we slowly adjusted it with turning of the key in between. No go. So, we re-stabbed dizzy and set it to TDC in hopes that the timing had jumped. We would crank crank crank and it would start for only a few seconds, backfire out the passenger pipe, and die. The mechanic friend of mine, while using compression tester, discovered excellent comp in all cylinders but one. He figured we had a burnt valve. Seeing how the backfiring was out the passenger side, it explained the 0psi compression out of cylinder 2.