Fairlane Owners/Enthusiasts Forum Index
  The time now is Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:25 pm   

Fairlane Owners/Enthusiasts Forum Index -> FairlaneTech

replacing my bottom quarter (pics)

Author    Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
SD44

replacing my bottom quarter (pics)

i'm sure this seems crude to some of you with more experience and better equipment, but this is my first project car so i'm learning as i go. i cut both the old quarter piece and the replacement piece off with a set of hand nibblers. they worked me to death, lol. spot welded the replacement panel on, put fiberglass over it, buffed off that flash rust, and applied bondo. just bought a new air file, haven't had time to work the bondo yet. as you can see by the trim holes, the replacement came off a 67.

spot welds

ground down the welds

fiberglassed over the weld seam, sanded after this pic

first round of filler, after removing surface rust

Post Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:37 pm 
SD44

are pics blocked in this forum? just wondering why they're not showing. Crying or Very sad

Post Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:50 pm 
Lawdog

Fixed you had the imaged tags swappes

[img] beginning

[/img] end

Post Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:54 pm 
odd ball

looks like it will turn out ok. Next time, if it were me, I would do more welding. The best way to do it without warping the metal is to just keep doing spotwelds in different places untill you have a soild line. It would give it more strength. Also, I think you could overlap the two pieces a bit. Makes the welding easier. This book was a great help to me in my project:

Pro Paint & Body

Post Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:06 pm 
SD44

quote:
Originally posted by odd ball: